Double Exposures: Pocket Watches

This post shows my finals for my Seeing the Light project, I decided to go with my idea with the pocket watches and showing destruction that time could have on a place and even objects.

Final 1

pocket-watch-edit-1-1
Photograph By: William Hands

This is my fist final piece, I decided that I would combine the old railway bridge with the pocket watch as I thought that they would work well together.

I think that the rusted colour works well with the colour of the bridge as I think it looks like the rust is spreading into the background of the photograph.

To improve the photograph I think that I would arrange the bridge slightly better so that you could see more of the bridge.

Final 2

pocket-watch-edit-2-1
Photograph By: William Hands

For my seconded final piece I decided to combine one of my sunset photographs with one of my pocket watch photographs.

I like the way that the colours of the sunset comes through the in the photograph and yet you can still see all of the details of the pocket watches face. I also like the way that the coloured gradient also fits in with the sunset as it create a slight golden glow.

To improve this photograph I would try and remove the shadows so they are not quite so distracting.

Final 3

1324364-1
Photograph by William Hands

For my third final piece I decided that I would combine one of my photographs from my Midday photograph task with the pocket watch. I decided to use this landscape with the pocket watch as I thought that maybe in 100 years’ time the landscape may not look like it does at this moment in time.

Again I like the way the rust coloured gradient work with the double exposure as I think the colour could mix in well with the mud in the landscape.

To improve this photograph I would again try and remove the shadows at the top left of the photograph. I would also try and arrange the landscape photograph a little better so that you can see more of the landscape.

Final 4

pocket-watch1
Photograph By: William Hands

For my forth final piece I decided that I would combine my photograph of the old brick barn in the landscape.

I like the way that the landscape photograph is strong yet you can still see the pocket watch face in its own right. I also like the effect that the rust colour combined with the sky creates as it creates a retro feel to the photograph.

To improve this photograph I would rearrange the landscape in the pocket watch so that it flows slightly better.

Final 5

untitled-2-1
Photograph By: William Hands

For my fifth final piece I decided that I would combine one of my photographs of Long Marston air field with the pocket watch as I like the way the train carriages looked as though they had been left to the elements in the landscape.

I like the way the rust coloured gradient works with the double exposure photograph as I think I ties in with the colour of the train carriages and maybe the colours naturally found in the landscape.

To improve this photograph I would probably try and find a way to make the train carriages stand out a little more so that you could see them better. I would also try and find a way to remove the shadows in the top left hand corner of the photograph so that it can be a little less distracting.

Final 6

untitled-1-1
Photograph By: William Hands

For my sixth final piece I decided to combine my photograph of the graffiti on the cannel bridge as it is something that has built up over time.

I like the colour effect that the graffiti creates over the pocket watch as it helps to make the pocket watch stand out a little more. I also like the way that the 64A sign seem to fade out around the edges of the pocket watch as make an interesting effect for the photograph.

To improve this photograph I would probably move the cannel photograph a little so that the 64A sign was in the centre of the pocket watch.

Final 7

untitled-3-1
Photograph By: William Hands

For my seventh final piece I decided that I would combine my photograph of the old horse cart and the pocket watch, I did this as this would have been part of the farming and transport world in the time of the Victorians but since the world started developing better machinery they became unpopular and left to decay naturally.

I like the way that the two photographs have combined as they create an interesting effect together. I also like the coloured gradient over the top as it creates a natural and retro feel to the photograph.

To improve this photograph I would probably make the photograph of the old cart stand out a little more so that it doesn’t get quite so over powered by the photograph of the pocket watch.

Final 8

97896-1
Photograph By: William Hands

For my eighth final piece I decided to combine my photograph of the trees in the sunrise from my morning light photography task with a photograph of a pocket watch. I decided to do this as I thought that the light might work nicely with the pocket watch. Compared to the other photographs this one has not double exposed as well as it’s a little harder to tell what the image is inside the pocket watch.

I like the effect the sunrise photograph gives to the pocket watch as it gives a slightly golden colour to the metal of the watch.

To improve this photograph I would try and enhance the sunrise photograph to try and get it to be more noticeable. I would also try and remove the shadow in the top left of the photograph so that it doesn’t distract the viewer from the main focus which it the double exposed pocket watch.

Leave a Reply

